Home / Election 2020

Election 2020

The 2020 election process for representatives on the Health and Disability NGO Council is now complete.

Nineteen candidates were nominated for eight positions and the results are as follows.

Newly elected NGO Council members:

Disability Support Services   

Karen Beard-Greer, CE, Independent Living Services Trust.

Māori Health 

Waylyn Tahuri-Whaipakanga, COO, Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga.

Karaitiana Tickell, Kaiwhakahaere Matua, Purapura Whetu Trust. 

Mental Health

Barbara Disley, CE, Emerge Aotearoa.

Hine Moeke-Murray, CE, Te Kupenga Net Trust.

Pacific Health

Silao Vaisola-Sefo, Chief Executive, South Seas Healthcare Trust.

Personal Health         

Frances Blyth, Chairperson, Dementia Wellington.

Public Health

Selah Hart, CEO, Hāpai Te Hauora Tapui.

Outgoing NGO Council members

The NGO Council acknowledge with thanks the contributions of outgoing members Beverly Te Huia (past Chair), Carole Koha, Leilani Maraku, Marese McGee (past Deputy Chair), and Trevor Simpson.

Continuing NGO Council members

The newly elected NGO Council members join the current Council members who are:

Disability Support Services   

Sonia Thursby, Chief Executive, YES! Disability Resource Centre.

Māori Health

Maria Baker, CEO, Te Rau Ora.

Pacific Health

Pesio Ah-Honi, National Director Pacific Services, Mapu Maia.

Personal Health

Graham Walker, Chairperson, MS Taranaki.

Public Health

Jason Myers, CE, NZ AIDS Foundation (Council Chair).

In this section